Alan Milligan

Alan Milligan was one of Fife AC’s most distinguished endurance runners. From Dunfermline, Alan ran for Carnegie as a junior, and there had his first taste of some FAC races. He soon joined the club, and quickly established himself as one of Scotland’s leading hill runners, winning many local and national races, and representing Scotland in Europe and further afield. His most successful years were 1999 and 2000 when he enjoyed a fabulous run of form: in 1999 Alan won the Fife AC cross country Championships, the Lochore Meadows Open cross country, the Hill of Tarvit, the Shore Slither (in record time), White Tops (in record time), the Glenshee Challenge, Largo Law and the Strathmiglo Straddle; he was a key member of the Fife AC senior men’s team which won the George Sandilands Trophy in the East Scotland cross country League, and he represented Scotland in hill running in Northern Ireland and Borneo; in 2000 Alan won the Bog Trot Hill race, Norman's Law, Blebo Craigs 5 miles, Ben Lomond, Hill of Tarvit, Eildon Hills, Largo Law, Scottish world hills trials, the Strathmiglo Straddle, the Braemar Highland Games Hill Race and the Meall A' Bhuachaille Hill Race; he represented Scotland in hill running in Slovenia and Germany.

Alan was also an inspiration to a generation of young Fife AC hill runners, including on one famous occasion, all four members of the Scotland male team for the World Junior Mountain Running Championship.

In Alan's memory, his family presented a Quaich which is awarded to the first Fife AC runner home in the Norman's Law race, an event Alan himself won in 2000.

The Alan Milligan Memorial Quaich


  • 2011 Chris Russell
  • 2012 Chris Russell
  • 2013 Logan Rees
  • 2014 Logan Rees
  • 2015 Logan Rees
  • 2016 Logan Rees
  • 2017 Logan Rees
  • 2018 Logan Rees
  • 2019 Russell Hall
  • 2021 Mark Harris
  • 2022 Russell Hall
  • 2023 Heather Anderson